Millionaire by 27: Day 1 of 471 – Not a bad start, could be better

Today wasn’t a bad start, but it could have been better. I got my ABN number (Australian Business Number), upgraded my PayPal account to ‘business’ level (so I can accept credit card payments from websites) and made decent progress on the first of my inspirationals. Could have been better because I wasted alot of time chatting, emailing and working on my car (which had annoyingly convinced itself it only had 3 cylinders as opposed to 4). Will be more efficient tomorrow!

At this point I think I should really give some explanation of why exactly I think I can achieve this outrageous sounding goal of mine, how I propose to go about achieving it, and why I really want to do it all in the first place. All in the hope that you stop thinking I’m a ridiculously cool lunatic.

So I’ll begin with why I think I can do this. Well. Hmmm…
Ok let me start by saying that ever since I can remember, I’ve had a certain confidence in myself that I can achieve anything I set my mind to. I don’t know where this comes from (mum says it’s from her) but I’ve just always had this confidence + the attitude that if someone can do something then there’s no reason why I can’t either. Apologies if I sound big-headed, I’m really not. (My head is actually physically smaller than average!. And believe it or not I actually have found certain things that others do and I can’t… for example – the splits).

When you were in school you probably encountered that smart kid that somehow always topped everything (except sport. And religion.) without seeming to try. I was one of those kids. I’m not really proud of this – to this day I feel ashamed of being top of my highschool while putting in zero effort. I know that if I put in more effort I could have done even better and raised the ranking of the school – but I couldn’t be bothered. (I actually single-handedly slightly lowered the ranking of my school).
At that time I was more concerned with computer games (waaay cooler), girls (strange & mysterious creatures), bulking up so I could attract girls and be perceived as a badass (can’t get any cooler than this without imminent onset of hypothermia), and building a robot … Yes well without further rambling let me sum up and say I’m a genius and also slightly nerdy.

I cruised through university with about the same amount of motivation as I did in highschool (not much) – I didn’t achieve outstanding grades, just average grades – which I didn’t really care about – I was too busy building a car, complicating my life with girls, and working. I probably spent more time working than I did at uni. I never really knew what I wanted to do with myself, so I changed courses 3 times, changed girlfriends 3 times, and ended up being single, not having a road legal car, and graduating at the end of 2008 with 2nd class honours in a double degree: Bachelor of Engineering & Bachelor of Computer Science.

This post is getting really long – so I’m just going to finish off explaining why I think I can do this, and explain the how & the motivation behind it over the next few days.

I’ve always had a big attention to detail and the ability to read & understand really easily. That and a fascination that leads me to look at something and implicitly understand how it must work on the inside. That and flashes of inspiration / ideas which keep me awake all night because I’m too excited to sleep. All the above is what prompts me to start my ‘projects’. The last project (nearly finished) has been building a car. I started by not knowing how to change engine oil – now I can rebuild an engine and rewire an entire car -without any major injuries to my person. I don’t want to get into that project because this blog is supposed to be about my latest and greatest project to date – getting stupidly rich extremely quickly. You can read a little outdated info about my car project here.

I think I’m spending too much time on this blog – gotta cut this short and sum up the why by stating that I’m a justifiable smartass, I’m motivated to the point of insomnia to do this and from past experience when I feel this way about something like this – I end up doing it. + I won’t be able to fullfill the dream of throwing a bag of cash at a Lamborghini salesman until I either do this or admit failure and find another fulltime job.

I hope this has started to convince you that I’m not some naive optimistic crazy dreamer who doesn’t have a chance in hell of succeeding – because you’d be wrong on the last point 🙂

Gotta end with this – Bank information:
Deposit: $0
Withdrawal: $43.12 – Health insurance debit. Note to self: Cancel health insurance.
Balance: $17,069.11

Till tomorrow,
stay safe. (<- mine site interchangable for seeya mate)

About jezza11

At the moment I'm tired. I will fill this out later.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

